People in Illinois drink alcohol for many different reasons. There is generally nothing wrong with consuming alcohol either, however, some of the choices they make while drinking can cause trouble for themselves and others. One choice that can get people in trouble with the law is deciding to drive after they have consumed too much alcohol. If people are under the influence of alcohol while driving, they can be charged with a DUI.
If people are convicted of a DUI, they can face serious consequences. This true even for a first time DUI, but the potential penalties increase if people are later convicted of a second DUI.
Potential penalties for a second DUI
People who are convicted of a second DUI could be sentenced to five days in jail or in the alternative 240 hours of community service. If it is their second within the last 20 years then the person could have their driver’s license revoked for five years. They also could have their vehicle registration suspended. If the people have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 or above, then people must spend at least two days in jail and will have to pay a minimum fine of $1,250.
These are serious consequences for convictions of a second DUI, but people will not automatically be convicted of a DUI simply because they are charged. Police must have a valid reason to stop people initially and then must have a valid reason to believe the driver is in fact under the influence of alcohol before they can arrest them. If the police do not follow the rules, the evidence that the driver was intoxicated could be suppressed and convictions become unlikely.
There are many people who are charged with DUIs each year in Illinois. People convicted of multiple DUIs will have serious penalties, which is why avoiding a conviction is important. The defenses to DUIs start with the stop itself and knowing the potential defenses is key to avoid a conviction. Experienced attorneys understand the potential defenses and may be able to guide one through the process.